This Innovative Keyboard With Touch Sensitive Keys Took Me by Surprise

This Innovative Keyboard With Touch Sensitive Keys Took Me by Surprise

The Prestigio Click&Touch is truly something unique

Cover Image Credits: Clevetura

It can be agreed that keyboards are one of the most commonly used input devices. They started out to be typewriter-keyboards and now have ended up being wireless and even having media controls integrated. But one thing keyboards were always accompanied with was a pointing device. It was either a trackpad, mouse or sometimes a trackball. This has been the norm for quite some time.

I recently received an innovative keyboard — Prestigio Click&Touch, that has touch-sensitive keys which replace your trackpad. I was surprised and intrigued about how this would perform in real-world scenarios especially how well it would adapt to my lifestyle as a developer and tech blogger.

I have been using this keyboard for almost 4 weeks now and wanted to share my experience.

Note: I am in no way affiliated with the company, brand or product mentioned above.


Key Highlights

Scissor Keyboard

One of the most serious concerns for me with my Macbook was how fragile the keys were. I had to take extra precautions to make sure I would not press too hard on them while typing.

But with the Scissor Keyboard, Click&Touch gets the foundation well set. Scissor keyboards are known to be reliable and give a great typing experience.

Compact and Ergonomic

I was surprised by how light and compact the keyboard was. It weighs almost at 300 grams and requires lesser working space thanks to the elimination of a mouse.

It was also easy to use the device while being handheld. This is especially useful when connected to a smart TV. It suits perfectly as a mini keyboard for your tablet as well.

image.png Image Credits: Clevetura

Touch Sensitive Keys with Gesture Support

This astonishing feature separates the Prestigio Click&Touch from the rest of the competition. Over 80% of the keyboard surface is touch-sensitive, which allows you to simply use the whole keyboard as a trackpad.

The keyboard is clever enough to differentiate between a keypress and a trackpad touch movement.

Multimedia Shortcuts Built In

You even have gesture support for multimedia controls. You can control the playback and the volume by simply swiping across the function keys at the top of the keyboard.

Ample Connectivity Options

With the Prestigio Click&Touch, you can connect up to 5 devices simultaneously. You are able to connect to,

  • 3 Bluetooth devices
  • 1 radio-frequency (RF) connection via USB dongle
  • 1 device via USB Type C

Once connected, you can easily switch between the connected devices with the press of a button. Simplicity in each element.

image.png Image Credits: Clevetura

Personal Experience

During the unboxing, I loved the way how the product design team have crafted the product and its packaging. It took me around 20 minutes to get started, as I was required to install an update via the Clevetura App.

I initially had trouble figuring out how to drag and drop, resize windows or highlight texts with the trackpad as there were no physical buttons. After some googling, I found out that the trackpad only alternative is to double-tap with one finger and move the same finger. The finger should not be lifted after the second tap. This took me some time to get used to.

I also felt quite different when using the keyboard as a trackpad as it was very much new to me. But I did get used to it over the weeks and it was all great after that.

One of the issues I faced with the keyboard is when I had connected to my Macbook Pro via Bluetooth was that it worked smoothly for some time, and suddenly the mouse pointer would go missing from the screen. None of the trackpad features worked at that moment, yet I was still able to type with the keyboard as usual. Although you can fix this by simply restarting the keyboard, the issue still pops up after some time. I have reported this issue to the team and hopefully, there will be a fix via a firmware update.

Pros

  • Easy to switch between devices while typing.
  • Light and portable.
  • The scissor keyboard’s typing experience was good.
  • Stylish, minimalist design.
  • Multiple connectivity options
  • The app allows for minor customizations (scroll direction, mouse speed) for a better experience
  • Mac-specific keys.

Cons

  • Takes time to get used to using the keyboard as a trackpad.
  • Prestigio promises around 8 hours of battery life on continuous use which is lesser than similarly priced competitors.
  • Some issues with the touch-sensitive keys
  • With tasks that require precision, a mouse would be a better choice.

Should You Buy It?

This keyboard definitely has the potential to replace your casual-use keyboard and mouse. But if you are looking for a gaming keyboard or a replacement for a high precision mouse, I’m afraid this keyboard would disappoint you.

Although a 100$ price tag might be a bit too much for a relatively newer brand entering the keyboard segment, it is important to keep in mind that the package includes a trackpad(technically) as well. I would definitely suggest that this keyboard is a replacement for your everyday keyboard and mouse.

You can check out the keyboard on their official website.